"The songs revolve around the theme of marriage, expressing the joys and sorrows, the reflections and celebrations of a young lass at the turning point of her life."

Extract from sleeve notes:
"Think it over young lass!" sings Marianna Majorosi, for whom - unlike the majority of her modern contemporaries - it is not the spoken word but the song that seems to be the meet authentic language through which she can fully express her thoughts and dings. She sings of the destiny of women, young and old, of their experiences and sagacity in connection with pair selection and marriage, the most significant turning point in their lives. She employs precise, sublime form, citing from the masterpieces of Hungarian folk-poetry, which convey a wide range of deep emotions and rich ideas.

Choosing one of the fundamental rites of passages of human life she presents not only the customs (The Wedding) or merry aspects (The Feast) of marriage, but also the way a girl becomes acquainted with young men at large or small scale revels. She shows us that a girl might sometimes suffer disappointment, even in her fiance, and lays the importance of the marriage decision before us in The Ceremony....

While Marianna describes the joy, merriment, sorrow and grief of women's destiny, she also offers a stylish and tasteful glimpse of the rich variety of Hungarian folk wedding customs. However, it cannot simply be stated that the listener is holding only a collection of folk customs. This disc, besides giving an overall picture of Hungarian tradition, creates an atmosphere whereby we can easily put ourselves in the position of a girl when she sets out for the church or when she is swirling in the bride's dance.

The music which accompanies the girls' singing from beginning to end is not only an excellent complement to the songs, but also demonstrates some of the wealth of regional variation to be found in the folk tunes of the Hungarian minorities across the Carpathian Basin, and adds further colour to the spirit that pervades these songs.

1. Mezőség / Transylvanian Heath: Búza

2. Dunántúl / Transdanubia: Somogy

3. Menyasszonykikérő / Requesting Of The Bride
4. Menyasszonybúcsúztató / Farewell To The Bride
- Felvidék / Uplands: Ipolyvartó
5-8. Menyasszonybúcsú / The Bride's Farewell
- Felvidék / Uplands: Magyarbőd
9. Esküvő / The Ceremony - Mezőség / Transylvanian Heath: Szék

10. Mezőség / Transylvanian Heath: Magyarszovát

11. Borköszöntő / Wine Toast
12. Eger környéki boros nóták / Wine Songs From The Vicinity Of Eger
13. Nászköszöntő / Wedding Party Toast
14. Bodrogközi hejehuja és elköszönő / Merry-making
From Bodrogköz and Leave-taking


BBC Awards for World Music 2006 Winner.

Armenia is a nation that invokes many descriptions: landlocked, ancient, nestled in the foothills of the Caucasus mountains and bearer of many tragic events. Yet Armenia is also celebrated for its music, especially the duduk, a flute carved from apricot wood with a cane reed whose range is barely one octave. When played by a master such as Djivan Gasparyan the duduk creates one of the loneliest, most moving sounds ever heard.
Yet Armenia is not land locked in the past; instead, it has maintained a connection with Western thought and culture - this has been helped by a huge Armenian diaspora, many of whom live in the USA - and The Armenian Navy Band are the most brilliant example yet of how an ancient culture can comfortably blend with a contemporary one.

The Armenian Navy Band was founded by the percussionist/vocalist of Armenian descent, Arto Tunçboyaciyan. Arto likes to describe The Armenian Navy Band as 'avant garde music from Armenia' which suggests something of the band but is a little limiting. The band have a strong jazz influence and to this they bring in all manner of folkloric instrumentation so building an organic creation that, well, swings.
Along with others of the Armenian diaspora, Arto Tuncboyaciyan grew up on the outskirts of Istanbul. Arto turned to music to celebrate his culture and here he managed to keep alive the spirit of Armenia. The sorrow and loneliness, also to be found in African-American jazz and blues, are mixed here with the melancholy Armenian spirit. Yet there is also joy, love and solace.

The Navy Band is composed of twelve Armenian musicians and the compositions are all Arto originals which - using his words - 'have the sound of my life'. The instruments vary from traditional: duduk, zurna, kemanche, kanun to contemporary: trombone, alto sax, tenor, soprano sax, trumpet, bass, drums, keyboard and piano.

"I don't give direction to anybody," says Arto. "I let you imagine for yourself but what I try to give you is Love, Respect, Truth. I believe this is the path for trust. Trust is one of the simplest forms of wealth in this world. This is what we need."

01. Let Factories Open
02. Let' Not Become A Copy From A Copy
03. Let's Try A New Road
04. I Dont Forget My Faith
05. Here's To You Ararat
06. My Door Is Open For Everybody
07. Broken Waltz
08. Red Bird
09. Kef Kef ( Celebration )
10. Kitchen Song
11. Every Person Is One Life
12. Oleaman
13. Look At Your Forehead
14. For The Souls Of Those Who Passe

Part I.
Part II.

pass: bluesmen-worldmusic.blogspot.com

The ethnic project "Bugotak" aims to play true Siberian folklore combining traditional instruments and modern technique.Bug Otak means "Wheat Father." Bugotak plays native siberian music in these variations: Mostly - northern turkic (Altai, Tuva, inc. throat singing), but also Tungus-manchurian, and music of the Deep Northern folks (Eveny, Negidaltsy, Orci etc) Mostly - traditional folklore, but also ethnic turkic rock and hard ambient.
Mostly - its own songs, but also original folk songs and tributes to rock classics, played in traditional siberian instruments.

The main idea of Bugotak's art is that only those traditions come alive, which develop itselves; stark traditions are subject to nobody. Therefore, the project declares itself to play in any style, keeping native Siberian spirit. Lovers of 'pure folk' should stay away, to avoid stagnation of native folks culture.

Bugotak was found by George Andriyanov, a multi-instrument player and throat singing performer in 2004. Year 2006 cast: George Andriyanov, Tanya Romanova, Dmitry Shvetsov.
Awards in 2006: - 'The best folklore band' within professional performers on The Baykal Necklace international festival (Ulan-Ude, Russia).

01 Ijus
02 Thunder Dance
03 My Name Is Agdam Ynal
04 The Isle
05 Fish Bowhunting
06 The Taiga Man
07 Ak Bur-Khan
08 Tumke
09 Manchora
10 Holy And One
11 Winter
12 Attack To The South
13 Bahat'dzarin
14 Kozhung Of The Rising Sun

George 'Father Gorry' Adriano - PC, vocals, throat singing (kargyraa, khoomei, sygyt), guitar, chinese flute, fiddles.
George 'Eskape' Kolesnikov - guitars, khomus.


Related Posts with Thumbnails