A unique project from Fonó Records in Hungary featuring Ágnes Herczku, members of Hegedős, Vándor Vokál and others.
Singer Agnes Herczku and band with an enthralling collection of folk songs from the diverse Hungarian repertory: traditional folk songs, gipsy dances, shepherd's songs, wedding marches and even some drinking songs. Intelligent and inspired music which is articulated around some splendid elaborate vocal harmonies with a significant number of guests. Song topics range from The Wheat Must Ripen to The Tears of Women all of which are eloquently rendered. The instrumentation is precise and effective (violins, percussions, flute, accordion and dulcimer). A complex heritage organized around a talented and impressive group of musicians.

01. Oh, secret love (Folk song from Magyarbőd)
02. It begins secretly (Csárdás from Magyarbőd )
03. So that I don't need paint on my cheeks (Lament and „Hungarian” from Magyarszovát)
04. On the corner of her rosemary pillow (Dawn song and lads' dance from Kalotaszeg)
05. Three nights, three days (Csárdás and swift from Kalotaszeg)
06. Memory of Josko Kura (Bagpipe songs form Zoborvidék)
07. The wheat must grow ripe (Gypsy dance and „orphan song” from Nyirvasvári)
08. I lost my horse (Shepherds' songs for stick dance from Gömör)
09. When I go out to the hill in Daróc (“Hallgató” and melodies from Nagydaróc)
10. „Whose soul is wine” (Drinking songs from Bodrogköz)
11. My sweetheart, you took my sense away (“Oláhos”, csárdás and „fogás” from Bodrogköz)
12. Tears of women (Ruthenian chorovods from Sáros)
13. Huculka (Ruthenian music from Técső)
14. In memoriam Bohumil Hrabal (Wedding march from Jóka)

Fonó Folk Band:
Ágnes Herczku – vocals
Gergely Agócs – vocals, flute, bagpipe, tárogató
Tamás Gombai – vocals, violin
Gábor Szabó – vocals, violin
Sándor D. Tóth – vocals, second violin, viola, guitar, drum
Zsolt Kürtösi – vocals, double-bass, accordion

With the contribution of:
Balázs Unger – dulcimer, little dulcimer

Vándor Vokál band:
Katalin Bakó – vocals
Szilvia Bognár – vocals
Tünde Farkaš – vocals
Katalin Izsák – vocals

Ágnes Szalóki – vocals
Adrienn Buzássy – vocals
Júlia Zsákay – volcals
Ádám Pettik – water can, oral bass


pass: bluesmen-worldmusic.blogspot.com

Related Posts with Thumbnails