Róbert Lakatos approaches the works of Béla Bartók with as much respect as Barók himself once approached the treasure of Hungarian folk songs - by abstracting the stylistic characteristics of the folk melodies he had collected and classified, Bartók created one of the most significant life-works of 20th century classical music.
The most interesting pieces on this album are those in which Róbert Lakatos has returned Bartók's musical works to their supposedly original, traditional rural musical enviroment. When he surprises us now and again with a well-formed improvisation or variation he shows us that folk music could not have developed, could not have reached the refined form which Barók became acquainted with if the individual achievements and ingenuity of various generations of village musicians had not contributed to a greater or lesser extent to the common musical treasure of the people.
The musicians partnering Róbert Lakatos, apart from the outstandingly accomplished viola player László Mester, are all from the Uplands. (The Uplands of old Hungary, now in southern Slovaika.) We can enjoy the violin playing of Tamás Cseh, who is currently pursuing his studies in classical music, while his brother, Sándor Cseh, plays the cimbalom, which, together with the voice of Éva Korpás, is one of the leading contributors to the album's harmonious atmosphere. The carefully attentive accompaniment and lively dynamism provided by the double bass and accordion of Tibor Lelkes and the guitar and viola of Zoltán Hanusz give all this a solid foundation.

01. Kalamajkó (Bartók - arr. Pimroes)
02. Brácsa tánc / Dance Of The Viola (trad. - arr.: Lakatos)
03. Máramarosi tánc / Dance From Máramaros (Bartók - arr.: Primrose)
04. Csárdások / Csárdás Sequence (trad.)
05. Szól a kakas... / The Cock Is Crowing... /trad. - arr.: Rév)
06. Édesanyám Rózsafája... / My Dear Mother's Rambling Rose-tree... (trad. - arr.: Cseh S.)
07. Malmos / Mill Dance (trad. - arr.: Rév)
08. Röpülj páva... / Fly Up, Peacock... (trad. - arr.: Lakatos)
09. Buzai tánczene / Dance Music From Buza (trad.)
10. Párnás tánc / Cushion Dance (Bartók)
11. Csak azért szeretek... / That's Why I Like To Live (trad. - arr.: Lakatos)
12. Hajnalodik / Day Is Dawning (trad. - arr.: Lakatos)

Róbert Lakatos - viola, violin

Éva Korpás - voice
Attila Oláh - voice, drum
Tamás Cseh - viola, violin
Sándor Cseh -cimbalom
László Mester - 3-stringed viola, viola
Zoltán Hanusz Zoltán - 3-stringed viola, guitar, double bass, viola
Tibor Lelkes - double bass, accordeon

Marianna Majorosi - voice
Miklós Molnár - violin
Róbert Farkas -double bass


Original uploader: botlika. Thanks!

The Huun Huur Tu band from Tuva, Russia, practice the ancient technique of "xöömei" or throat-singing. Each vocalist simultaneously produced two distinct pitches: a lower drone and a high pitched flute-like sound. This is one of the world’s oldest forms of music making. We heard their ancient instruments and experienced the mellow beautiful tones that were exciting and yet very calming to the spirit. Instruments they use in their music include the igil, khomus, doshpuluur, tungur (shaman drum), and others.
The xöömei quartet Kungurtuk was founded in 1992 by Kaigal-ool Khovalyg, brothers Alexander and Sayan Bapa, and Albert Kuvezin. Not long afterwards, the group changed its name to Huun-Huur-Tu, meaning "sunbeams" (lit. sun propeller). The focus of their music was traditional Tuvan folk songs, frequently featuring imagery of the Tuvan steppe or of horses.
The ensemble released its first album, 60 Horses In My Herd, the following year. The album was recorded at studios in London and Mill Valley, California.

01. Sygyt (Lament of the Igil)
02. Mezhegei
03. Öske Cherde (Foreign Land)
04. Eshten Charlyyry Berge (It´s Hard to Be Parted From a Friend)
05. Kombu
06. Khöömei (Khovalyg solo)
07. Kongurei
08. Fantasy on the Igil
09. Bayan Dugai
10. Tuvan Internationale
11. Kargyraa (Khovalyg solo)
12. Ching Söörtukchülerining Yryzy (Song of the Caravan Drivers)

Kaigal-ool Khovalyg: vocal, igil, doshpuluur, chanzy;
Sayan Bapa: vocal, igil, Tuvan percussion;
Albert Kuvezin: vocal, guitar;
Alexander Bapa: Tuvan percussion.

Part 1.
Part 2.

pass: bluesmen-worldmusic.blogspot.com

Related Posts with Thumbnails