This album is like an exotic trip through the Arabian desert, and reminiscent of the glory days Led Zeppelin.
Jimmy Page and Robert Plant, former guitarist and singer for Led Zeppelin, respectively, take the listener on a journey with the use of foreign musicians and instruments including Egyptian bamboo flutes, mandolins, and bodhrans.

Much of the music on "No Quarter" has a Middle-Eastern feel to it. Page and Plant enlist the help of the London Metropolitan Orchestra and an Egyptian ensemble to create the magnificent and dreamy sound of Middle-Eastern music mixed with Western rock. The result is fabulous.

What I am most blown away with is how different many of the songs sound. Some, such as "Thank You" and "Gallows Pole," are basically the same as the Zeppelin classics. Many, however, sound as if they went in for plastic surgery. My favorite example is the first song on the album, "Nobody's Fault But Mine." I always thought the original Led Zeppelin version was alright, but when I heard Page and Plant's version, I was pleasantly surprised. It is slower,more beautiful, and, in my opinion, better than the original.
Jimmy Page and Robert Plant's "No Quarter" captures the mystery, power and life of music it self.
"No Quarter" is a breath of fresh air in a world of recycled music.

01. Nobody's Fault But Mine
02. Thank You
03. No Quarter
04. Friends
05. Yallah
06. City Don't Cry
07. Since I've Been Loving You
08. The Battle Of Evermore
09. Wonderful One
10. That's The Way
11. Gallow's Pole
12. Four Sticks
13. Kashmir

Jimmy Page: Guitars, mandolin, vocals.
Robert Plant: Vocals.
Charlie Jones: Bass guitar, percussion.
Michael Lee: Drums, percussion.
Ed Shearmur: Keyboards, organ, piano.
Porl Thompson: Guitars, banjo.
Nigel Eaton: Hurdy gurdy.
Jim Sutherland: Mandolin, bodhrán.
Abdel Salam Kheir: Oud.
Ibrahim Abdel Khaliq: Percussion.
Hossam Ramzy: Percussion.
Farouk El Safi: Daf, bendir.
Najma Akhtar: Backing vocals.
Bashir Abdel Al Nay: Strings.
Amin Abdelazeem: Strings.
Ian Humphries: Violin.
David Juritz: Violin.
Elizabeth Layton: Violin.
Pauline Lowbury: Violin.
Rita Manning: Violin.
Mark Berrow: Violin.
Ed Coxon: Violin.
Harriet Davies: Violin.
Rosemary Furness: Violin.
Perry Montague-Mason: Violin.
David Ogden : Violin.
Janet Atkins: Viola.
Andrew Brown: Viola.
Rusen Gunes: Viola.
Bill Hawkes: Viola.
Caroline Dale: Cello.
Ben Chappell: Cello.
Cathy Giles: Cello.
Stephen Milne: Cello.
Sandy Lawson: Didjeridu.
Storme Watson: Didjeridu.



VulgarGrad bring you a highly alcoholic and volatile blend of the old songs of the Russian thieves (called blatnie pesny or blatnyak), along with punk classics of the Perestroika era and a strong dose of contemporary St. Petersburg swearing ska. The band delivers this music with style, raucous menace, stripy shirts and a smattering of grim smiles (very important).

Legend of stage and screen, Jacek Koman (Children of Men, Moulin Rouge, Romulus My Father, Australia) is the genial but vengeful front man who roars with the voice of a man betrayed, and he is backed by a gang of Australia's most illustrious ex-cons drawn from bands such as The Spaghetti Western Experience, The Blue Grassy Knoll, Zulya and the Children of the Underground, Croque Monsieur, Blue Drag, and the Five Angry Men. The Line-up is guitar, drums, trombone, trumpet, accordion, and watch out for the largest, most triangular instrument of them all, the mighty contrabass balalaika.

"This album is an absolute hoot! The album title (read with tongue firmly planted in cheek) says it all really – think Tom Waits in Russian meets Waiting For Guiness or any of that ilk. VulgarGrad are a Melbourne-based outfit featuring bassist Andrew Tanner (Zulya’s Children Of The Underground) on contrabass balalaika, with an able crew of guitar, horns & accordion, and at the helm the extraordinary guttural vocals of Jacek Koman.

All the songs are sung in Russian, delivered with all the morose hilarity we love from the Eastern Bloc proletariat, and with titles like ‘Alkoholik’, ‘Why Did The Aborigines Eat Captain Cook’ and ‘Anarchy Is Our Mother’ you can probably assume this is not music to be bourgeois to. It swings, stutters, stumbles and growls, veering and careering from cabaret cheese to jazz groove to carny to ska. While the musicians are clearly seasoned (or pickled), they play with shambolic abandon, often threatening to slide off the vodka-soaked table and into a puddle on the floor, with Koman’s growl providing enough rust to prevent proceedings from ever getting too slick. A fat horn section slithers & seesaws with well-oiled grunt, peppered with tasteful sprinklings of Nara Demasson’s jazzy guitar and what I assume is Svetlana Bunic’s MIDI accordion sounding like xylophone, hammond organ, flute and other sundry effects.

Superlatives aside, this is a great slab of music – energetic & fun, well-played and imminently danceable, although possibly even better to get very drunk and hurtle to."

01. Murka (trad.)
02. Alkoholik (S.Shnurov)
03. Why Did the Aborigines Eat Captain Cook (V.Vysotsky)
04. Anarchy is Our Mother (V.Tsoy)
05. The Giraffe (V.Vysotsky)
06. Vaninsky Port (trad.)
07. This Russian Rock 'N' Roll (F.Chistyakov)
08. The Years Rush By (A.Severny)

Jacek Koman: vocals
Andrew Tanner: contrabass, balalaika
Renato VaCirca: drums
Ros Jones: trombone
Adam Pierzchalski: trumpet
Nara Demasson: guitar
Phil McLeod: piano, accordion



The group Makám  is founded in 1984 in Budapest. A group with many different groups, but always manages Zoltán Krulik special singers to win.Singers with a more or less the same as quality and tembre: Bognár Szilvia , Palya Bea , Ági Szalóki and crystal clear Iren Lovász . The daughter of Krulik, Eszter Krulik  plays on several CDs.Ferenc Academy of Music in Budapest. She studied violin at Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music in Budapest.   After the debut album the band gets some notoriety through the movie's Utcazeneszek Zolnai Pál (Buskers at a flea market). Now they have more than "a dozen CDs, always with a haunting quality.

Makám arrived a new turning point in it's carreer with this album - like ten years ago, when the instrumental period has changed to a vocal period. Yanna Yova focuses on todays atmosphere, musical movements and the toughts of the modern city living human being.

01.    Távol
02.    Mozi
03.    Yanna Yova
04.    Hazafelé
05.    Tolvaj idő
06.    Soha már
07.    Sms
08.    Világoskék
09.    Tova tűnt
10.    Ahmedabad

Zóra Hornai - voice
Klára Korzenszky - voice
Olga Horváth - violin, voice
Dávid Eredics - clarinet, kaval, saxophone, harmonium
Zoltán Krulik - guitar, harmonium, tampura, voice
Attila Boros - bass guitar
László Keöch - drums, cajon, udu, guiró, aquaphone, throat singing



Related Posts with Thumbnails