"While Huun-Huur-Tu are folkloric pioneers, bringing the traditional music of Tuva to a worldwide audience, the goal of throat-singing rock band Yat-Kha is decidedly more aggressive and revolutionary. Albert Kuvezin, the band's founder and leader, and a former member of Huun-Huur-Tu, sees the folk music of Tuva as a stepping-off point for his band, a point of contact with the heritage but also a point of contention with the power of static culture. Yat-Kha feature electric guitar (often fuzzy and distorted, to mimic the gruff, basso kargiraa vocals), in addition to local string and percussion instruments that offer a rooted sound to an often chaotic musical web. A few of the songs on Dalai Beldiri come off as just repolished folk-pop, imitation blues that rely too heavily on standard times and melodic structures. But most of the album shines, using the shamanic roots of the group's Siberian predecessors to forge ahead with new, innovative, and often disconcerting music that emphasizes the power of the human voice as much as the power of the electric guitar. This is a groundbreaking album for Tuva, one that pushes the boundaries without just making it accessible. In fact, this music is anything but easy. It's challenging and unusual."

Louis Gibson

"Why can Tuvan people not be long out of Tuva? Why do strangers who visit this land want to come back again? What does this ancient place have so attracting and so luring? Maybe from here, far from civilization and large noisy cities and main roads, it is possible to sense the breath of nature and history - to stop time and motion, looking on ancient mounds and majestic rocks to track the development of Earth and Human culture. Fathomless skies and endless valleys, sharp mountains and swift rivers, black-eyed beauties and frisky racehorses. Life and fight, love and death, freedom and independence... So is the world-outlooking subconscious of the Tuvan person and our songs on the new disk are about that. I hope it will help you understand the soul of the people, their music and to accomplish a journey through time and space.

Peace and Harmony to everybody."
Albert Kuvezin and "YAT-KHA"

01. Kaldak-Khamar
02. Khemchim
03. Dyngyldai
04. Opei Khoomei
05. Kazhan Toren Karam Bolur
06. Keergentchig
07. Charash Karaa
08. Ydyk Buura
09. Hondergei
10. Sodom i Gomora

Albert Kuvezin - yat-kha, guitars, bass, shanzi, khomuz and low kargiraa vocal
Aldyn-ool Sevek - morin-huur, igil and sygyt, khoomei, kargiraa vocal
Zhenya Tkachëv - tüngür, percussion, gongs and stikhi vocal

Special Guests:
Steve Goulding - drum-kit
Martyn Barker - kat-drum
Martijn Fernig - little bell
Lu Edmonds (aka Akym) - extra bass, cümbüsh, saz


pass: bluesmen-worldmusic.blogspot.com

"The idea of colliding Romany music with punk may at first seem bizarre, but there's more common ground to be found than one might first suspect, not the least of which involves the rejection of authority and dominant cultural norms. Musically, the Romanies' exuberant celebration of life may appear the antithesis of punk's original nihilism, but both are kindled by a sense of immediacy, a "no future, let's play for today" atmosphere that fires every song. And so Gogol Bordello, while certainly unique, is not as odd as it may seem. The group long ago left the concept of borders, musical or otherwise, behind. The members may have met in New York City, but bar one, all traveled far to get there, arriving from Israel and a variety of Eastern European nations. Singer/lyricist Eugene Hutz brought with him his rich Ukrainian heritage, a gift for storytelling, a twisted sense of humor, and a sharp sense of irony. The bandmembers brought their excellent musicianship, a love of their own cultural sounds, and a magpie's delight in plundering from others. The group's name pays tribute to Ukraine's most feted author, Nikolai Gogol, whose distinctive style and leitmotif provide inspiration for Hutz's lyrics. Skipping stealthily from the real world to the surreal, the pugnacious to the paranoid, the singer spins out his tales of wonder and woe, commonplace occurrences and counterintuitive events. Behind him, the band lets loose with an accompaniment that makes a nonsense of genres, a storming backing awash in melody that pushes toward pop, but cries out to the vast Eurasian steppes. Incredibly anthemic, Multi Kontra Culti will set your head spinning and your body with it, your blood racing to the rhythms, and your spirit soaring with the wildness of the untamed sounds within."

Jo-Ann Greene, All Music Guide

01. When The Trickster Starts A-Poking
02. Occurrence On The Border
03. Haltura
04. Let's Get Radical
05. Smarkatch
06. Future Kings
07. Punk Rock Parranda
08. Through The Roof'n'Underground
09. Baro Foro
10. Hats Off To Kolpakoff
11. Huliganjetta

Ori Kaplan: Saxophone, Vocals
Yuri Lemeshev: Accordion
Victoria Hana: Vocals (Background)
Oren Kaplan: Guitar, Vocals, Engineer
Eugene Hütz: Guitar (Acoustic), Vocals,
Sergey Rjabtzev: Violin, Vocals


pass: bluesmen-worldmusic.blogspot.com

Related Posts with Thumbnails