RotFront is the brainchild of two Berlin emigrantskis. One half of the RussenDisko is Yuriy Gurzhy, who joined forces with Hungarian musician Simon Wahorn, initiator of the HungaroGroover Soundsystem, to create the Emigrantski Raggamuffin Kollektiv RotFront. Founded in 2003, it played its way almost overnight to ranking as Berlin’s ultimate party band. Whether there are seven, twelve or fifteen musicians on stage at any one time – nobody is going to be alone on the dancefloor for long. Right from the start, with the opening songs, the boundary between stage and dancefloor dissolves into nothingness. Rolling back boundaries is RotFront’s mission – and in that sense they are a political band. They may not talk the talk, but they certainly walk the walk: instead of singing about politics, they actually live the easy-going, harmonious interaction of nationalities, ethnicities, musical genres and cultures. And it works. A Ukrainian, two Hungarians, an American, an Australian and five Germans mix Ska, Reggae, Dancehall and Cumbia sounds with Klezmer, Berlin’s own in-your-face brand of Hiphop, Eastern European Turbopolka, Mediterranean melodies and rock riffs. Russian, Hungarian, German and English lyrics tell of life in Berlin and the adventures of immigrants in the city.

01. Intro
02. B-Style
03. Zhiguli
04. Sovietoblaster
05. Kemények a fények
06. Berlin
07. Red Mercedes
08. Ya Piv
09. Remmidemmi
10. Sohase mondd
11. Gypsy Eyes (Feat. Miss Flint)
12. Rotfront Fm
13. Tűz
14. Devil
15. Emigrantski Raggamuffin (Feat. Smo)
16. Klezmerton
17. Youtube Song

Yuriy Gurzhy - Vocals, Guitar, Bass;
Simon Wahorn - Vocals, Bass, Guitar;
Dorka Gryllus - Vocals;
Mad Milian - MC;
Dan Freeman - Sax;
Max Bakshish - Clarinette, Sax;
Anke Lucks - Trombone;
Daniel Kahn - Accordeon;
Jan Pfennig - Drums



Transylvanyan and moldavian folk music.

"Disgrace is the word if it's not of comfort,
Disgrace is the verse if it's false."
Szilágyi Domokos

"This notion is true in case of folk songs, too. They spread the truth spontaneously, and moreover they play an important role in our lives, they clean and give relief.
The desire for inner purification makes the songs sound/be heard in me, and this is why I collected some of them from my homeland's treasures. I have tried to rise to the cleared greatness of them, because "disgrace is the word if it's not of comfort" but disgrace is the song if it's not true".
Demeter Erika

1. Anyám, édesanyám - Mother Dear Mother (Moldva)
2. Édesanyám karján nevelt - Mother Raised Me In Her Arms (Gyimes)
3. Én Istenem miért vertél meg - Why Have Punished Me My God (Gipsy songs from Örkő)
4. Húzzad Cigány - Make Me Music, Gipsy (Szék)
5. Anyám, édesanyám - Mother Dear Mother (Moldva)
6. Gyere rózsám, egyere már - Can't Wait For You, Dearest (Mezőség)
7. Esik eső, zúg a malom - Whirring Mill In the Rain (Mezőség)
8. Anyám, édesanyám - Mother Dear Mother (Moldva)
9. Széles a Szamosnak vize - Wide Is The Water Of Szamos (Kalotaszeg) Szerettelek, szerettél - I Loved You, You Loved Me (Mezőség)

Hegedős Band:
Csávás Attila – kaval, furulya, saxophone
Ökrös Csaba – violin
Szabó Gábor – koboz
D. Tóth Sándor – koboz, drums, gardon, viola
Nagy Zoltán – dulcimer
Kürtösi Zsolt – cello, contrabass

Papp István Gázsa – violin
Wertetics Szlobodán - accordion



Related Posts with Thumbnails