Back in ancient times Altai was populated by a spiritual civilization. At present the civilization is gradually fading away, but its glow still remains in the form of Altaikai throat singing. Altai kai nowadays is the bridge between the ancient spiritual world of Altai and modern civilization.

A throat singing band "AltaiKai" was founded in 1997. Its goal is conservation and development of the Altai traditional culture and customs. "AltaiKai" is:
- a prize-winner of All-Russia and international festivals and competitions;
- a member of the Russian Federation's folk-lore union.
- a member of the international organization of folk art of UNESCO.
- a winner of the UNESCO prize. Samarkand. 2001.
- a record-holder of the Guinness' "Book of the Achievements and Records" for the longest performance of throat singing in 2003.
- a gold medal winner of the Moscow "Delfiyski Plays" in 2000.
- a gold medal winner at the international festival of throat singing "Dyhanie Zemli" ("the Ground's Breath"). Ulan-Ude. 2005.
- a winner of the G.I. Choros-Gurkin's prize of the Republic of Altai.

The band performed in Russia, Kazakhstan, Kirgizia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Mongolia, Czech, Austria, Norway, Switzerland, Finland, Turkey and the USA.

The members of the group organized three throat singing festivals "Altyn Taiga", where representatives from the Republics of Tyva and Khakasia and such foreign countries as Japan, England and the USA participated.

Despite the fact that Altai throat singing is a tradition with centuries-long history, nowadays it is still a well-established and demanded part of contemporary world music.

01. Baatyrdyng Soozi (Warrior's Words)
02. Altaiym (My Altai)
03. Alkyshtar (Prayers)
04. Kara-suu (Spring Water)
05. Ulaganym jaanyr (Janger Style Song from Ulagan)
06. Shunu Baatyr (Shunu Warrior)
07. Komuzym, oino, oino (Play, Play, My Khomus)
08. Jebren kai la tunur (Ancient Kai Song amd Tunur-Drum)
09. Oyim, oyim
10. Jai (Summer)
11. Kaan Altai (Khan-Altai)
12. Juuchyldar (Hero-Warriors)
13. +Bonus Jai. Slush (Al Korchagin) feat. AltaiKai "Bathing birds remix".


The Armenian Navy Band was founded by the percussionist/vocalist of Armenian descent, Arto Tunçboyaciyan. Music is a fundamental element of his life, by which he tries to communicate his greatest values:"love, respect and truth".

The group is composed of twelve Armenian musicians, among the best that live in Armenia at the moment. The compositions are all original of Arto Tunçboyaciyan which -using his words - "have the sound of my life".

This music is pervaded by sonorities taken from the Armenian and Anatolian tradition fused with elements coming from different musical experiences, amongst them jazz.

Arto's original compositions express the sound of the past generations along with today's life; this is what he calls "avant-garde folk". We can say that the Armenian Navy Band represents the synthesis of Arto's musical journey and life experiences. As an ensemble with particular virtuosity, it also has great ability in performing live music and compositions taken from the tradition and from the current culture of Armenia.

The musicians of this ensemble range from ages 20-45. The instruments vary from traditional: duduk, zurna, kemanche, kanun to contemporary: trombone, alto sax, tenor, soprano sax, trumpet, bass, drums, keyboard and piano. This ensemble together with the unique vocals and percussion and sazabo of Arto creates a musical journey of the past and present, bringing the sound into the future.

01.: They Love Me 15 Feet Away
02.: Rooster Run
03.: My Aunt Mary Doesn't Care About My Jacket
04.: Shadows Of Clean Spirits
05.: Can Money Buy Royalty
06.: Love Respects Truth
07.: Blue Chestnuts
08.: Kudumda
09.: Don't Go Far Away From Yourself
10.: ANB Sailing Song
11.: One Up One Down Sometimes Make A Left Turn
12.: New Apricot
13.: Let's Have Fun At The Border


* Arto Tunçboyaciyan - Percussions, vocals, sazabo
* Anahit Artushyan - Kanun
* Armen Ayvazyan - Kemanche
* Armen Hyusnunts - Tenor & soprano sax
* Ashot Harutiunyan - Trombone
* David Nalchajyan - Alto sax
* Tigran Suchyan - Trumpet
* Norayr Kartashyan - Blul, duduk, zurna
* Vardan Grigoryan - Duduk, zurna
* Arman Jalalyan - Drums
* Vahagn Hayrapetyan - Piano, keyboards
* Vardan Arakelyan - Bass


Beáta Salamon whose singing voice and virtuosity on the violin are the specialities of Méta founded the ensemble. This formation is working together since 1999. The very base of our work is playing in dance houses. We learn our musical repertoire from archive material and from our own collections. We try to pass on our personal experiences to our students in the art school, at our courses in folk music and in our summer camps.
In different plays, we have performed in the most popular theatres of Hungary. Our adventure into world music is the Heavy Méta formation, in which perform the experts of the Hungarian blues-life too. As a representative of the Hungarian folklore movement, our band regularly gives concerts at home and abroad and also performs at international festivals and musical competitions.

The important points in our career:
1983 The title of the "Young Masters of Folk Art"
1990 MTV (Hungarian Television) Competition for Folk Ensembles - first prize
1999 eMeRTon-Prize (Hungarian Radio Ltd.)

Our adventure into world music is the Heavy Méta formation, in which such experts of the Hungarian blues-life perform as Tamás Takáts, Zoltán Sipeki, György Ferenczi and Gábor Molnár.

01. Free bird
02. I like you
03. Mária,Mária
04. Pace
05. Love
06. Moldva
07. Pentecostal rose
08. Variations
09. Spring,spring
10. Black mourning
11. Manly
12. Paradise

Beáta Salamon-voice, fiddle - leader
Attila Gera-wind instruments
Zsolt Nagy-3 and 4 stringed viola, drum
Zoltán Porteleki-hammered dulcimer, hurdy-gurdy, viola
Mohácsy Albert-double bass, cello, koboz, gardon
Ferenc Németh-voice, drum



This is a real curio! This disk in Switzerland in 1979, it was published in only some hundred copies. The music the folk the superb alloy of the rock and the jazz.

Az Unikumot a Gépfolklór együttesből kivált zenészek 1978-ban alakították. Az együttest előbb ismerték külföldön, mint itthon, nyugatnémet fesztiválokon vettek részt, 1979-ben Svájcban nagylemezük jelent meg, csupán pár százas példányszámmal, ez az egy lemezük létezik. Zenéjükben a folk, a rock és a jazz stílusjegyeit ötvözik.

01 Extase
02 Little Bird
03 Suite De Danses De Roumanie Et Dobrudza
04 Mon Coeur Soigne
05 Musique Bulgare
06 Crepuscule-Aube
07 Danses De Szatmár

Róbert György - drums, blockflute, voice;
Balázs János - violin, double bass, voice;
Matolcsy Eszter - violin, voice;
Dabasi Péter - mandolin, guitar, cello, voice.



Related Posts with Thumbnails