"Since the first volume of this Network Medien series came out in 1995, the whole notion of "Desert Blues" has become more familiar, even to the point where not every song on a double CD like this has to necessarily fit the description (a description that, since first coined, has been open to varied interpretation anyway). All that's really needed are great songs from the Saharan regions, and there are loads of them here. Not a lot of the featured artists were on the first two volumes, so there's a healthy amount of freshness here.

You can start just about anywhere with blow-by-blow descriptions: rootsy rai from Khaled, elegant kora work by Toumani Diabate, rockish excursions courtesy of Tinariwen, etc. If you want a quick summation, the back cover offers one: "Recently discovered finest ballads from Mali, Senegal, Mauritania, Guinea, Niger, Western Sahara, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Ethiopia." I suppose "finest ballads" does at least as well as "desert blues" in describing the music here, which represents everything from griot tradition to jazz and classical fusion. Actually, as more Saharan artists and countries increase their presence on the global music scene, collections like this will continue to be necessary in keeping up with the work of established stars (Gigi, Oumou Sangare, Habib Koite), newer or lesser-known names (Bako Dagnon, Idrissa Soumaoro) and even non-Africans who successfully get in on the action (Markus James, Kronos Quartet). There's over two hours of superb sounds on this set, the illustrated liner notes are informative and thoughtful, and it's essential listening even if you missed the first two installments."

Tom Orr

Disc 1.

01. Djelimandy Tounkara - Fanta
02. Idrissa Soumaoro - M´ba Den
03. Souad Massi - Raoui
04. Khaled - Wahrane, Wahrane
05. Tiris - El Nabi
06. Booubacar Traore & Regis Gizavo - Kanou
07. Markus James - Dream After
08. Bako Dagnon - Lassidan
09. Fula Flute - Keme Bourema
10. Gigi - Bati Bati
11. Cherif M´baw - Baayo
12. Abdouolaye Alhassane Toure
13. Rokia Traore & Kronos Quartett - Bownboï
14. Toumani Diabate & Ali Farka Touri - Ai Ga Bani

Disc 2.

01. Dhafer Youssef - A Kind Of Love
02. Seckou Keita Quartet - Tounga
03. Ali Farka Toure - Penda Yoro
04. Boubacar Traore - Kar Kar
05. Malouma - Yarab
06. Bassekou Kouyate & Lobi - Traore Banani
07. Abdallah Ag Oumbadougou - Imidiwan
08. N´gou Bagayoko - Kulu
09. Tinariwen - Izarharh Tenere
10. Oumou Sangare - Djorolen
11. Habib Koite - Mali Ba
12. Amadou & Mariam - Ce N´est Pas Bon
13. Getatchew Mekurya - Eywat Sstenfegagn
14. Gigi - Ethiopia

CD 1.
CD 2.

Guitarist, composer, arranger, and professor at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music, Gyula Babos is one of the best known personalities of jazz life in Hungary. He was hardly 17 when he won the Jazz Competition of the Hungarian Radio in 1966, and since that time his goal has been to make his mark on the international music scene with compositions rooted in Hungarian folk and Gypsy music. After joining and founding several groups (the Aladár Pege Quintet, Kex, Rákfogó, Kőszegi Rhythm and Brass, Saturnus, BDSZ Collection, the Babos Trio and Quartet) and participating in European jazz festivals, in 1989 he produced his first solo album, called In 'n Out, which contains his own compositions – just like Blue Victory, his second release, recorded in 1994, with Victor Bailey, Terri Lyne Carrington, Béla Szakcsi Lakatos, and the late George Jinda. The album was released in twelve European countries. He made his third solo album for Sony Columbia in 1998, entitled Once Upon a Time..., which is the realization of his intention to fuse jazz with Hungarian and Gypsy folk traditions in his own way. The material was recorded with the Babos Project Romani. Babos introduced the group not only in Europe, but also in England and in Israel at the Red Sea Festival. Seventy-five Minutes Live, his latest release features the celebrated percussionist Trilok Gurtu. On this album, East-, West- and Middle-Eastern Europe meet in Babos’ music. Besides recording and composing (film and cartoon scores included), he is also a producer for pop and contemporary artists. One of his greatest dreams was fulfilled when in 1991 he played with Frank Zappa in front of an audience of thirty thousand people in Budapest.

01. Intro
02. Nara-Nannay
03. Gelem
04. Trans-Sylvania
05. Csillagok - Stars
06. Három nap - Three Days
07. Romantic Gipsy Heart
08. True Colors
09. Mathild Song
10. Mese feketén fehéren - Tale Black and White

Babos Gyula - guitar, synthesiser
Oláh "Chumo" Árpád - piano
Hárs Viktor - double bass
Lattman Béla - bass guitar
Borlay Gergő - drums
Kunovics Katalin - voice
Dobi Matild - voice
Bihari "Imi" Ernő - voice, can
Daróci "Choli" József - voice


Original Uploader: gerzoli. Thanks!

Related Posts with Thumbnails