EtnoRom ensemble was founded in 2005 by József Balog and Ágnes Künstler, the world-famous soloists of the Hungarian Gypsy group, "Kalyi Jag". Their new formation, Etnorom presents a unique range of fiery Gypsy music and dances from the Balkan Peninsula to Andalusia. The songs appear in exciting, new scoring by outstanding Romany musicians, who grew up singing and playing music and worked as members of Middle Eastern Europe's most famous Gypsy and folk groups. Etnorom's incredibly colorful repertoire includes; Gypsy music from Hungary, the Balkans, Serbia, Romania, Russia, Greece, Turkey, Spain, and - which is a real delicacy - the Arab world! The concerts are enriched with belly dance performed by Alexandra, and various Gypsy dances from the region. An "audience dance participation section" is often added to the show that gives the audience the possibility to learn belly dance moves and traditional Romany dances.'

From band:
"EtnoRom has an alternative approach towards Gypsy music by merging the authentic tunes with contemporary world music, swing and jazz elements. Why is this approach new today, when world music is the main trend? Because EtnoRom managed to create a musical balance so that the music saves the extreme power of real traditional tunes and rhythms.
EtnoRom's mission is to build contact between Romany tribes who wandered from Northern India and settled down in various parts of the world: In Northern Africa, Andalusia, Turkey, The Balkan Peninsula, Serbia, Russia, Romania and Hungary. In most of the cases the Gypsy people themselves don't know the music and dances of their brothers and sisters. EtnoRom aims to make Gypsy and non-Gypsy people know about the incredible diversity of Gypsy music. This mission, combined with the musical approach of the group has created a new, brave form of Gypsy music that roots in the authentic Gypsy basics and harmonically integrates other musical trends, as well."

01. Kanak Devla me pijav, When I drink...
02. Zsanezs Sukar Te Khelesz
03. Phirdem me ande luma, I walk all alone...
04. Aven, aven Romale!, Come, Gypsies, let's dance!
05. Romanos
06. Soha senkit nem szerettem, I never loved anyone
07. Jek fogasi me kerav, My style
08. Kotyka tele bassaven, They are making music down there...
09. Muro cino kalorro, My little black son
10. Rogyom me Tut Ande Luma
11. Phirdem me ande luma, I was wandering through the whole world
12. Miert Sir Az En Tulipanom
13. Ajaj Devla de margyan man!, My God, how you’ve treated me bad!
14. Tu Szan Muro Pirano
15. Romale aven ke mande!, Gypsy people, come with me!

Jozsef Balog - guitar, vocals
Ágnes Künstler - vocals
Sándor Kuti - cimbalom
László Major - violin
István Balogh - percussion, oral bass, dance
Miklós Balogh - keyboard

Tamás Smuk - darbuka, cajon
Zoltán Balogh - solo guitar, bass guitar, buzuki
Zoltán Lakatos - solo guitar, accord guitar
Rudolf Balogh - Spanish rhythmic guitar




Unknown said...

Listen some songs from the band on :

The tour dates are availables on

Related Posts with Thumbnails